Item 828 - Press statement by the Office of the President on the appointment of the Commissioners of the Commission on Gender Equality

Identity area

Reference code



Press statement by the Office of the President on the appointment of the Commissioners of the Commission on Gender Equality


  • 1997-02-07 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Transcription of speech made by Mr Mandela

Context area

Name of creator

(18 July 1918-5 December 2013)

Biographical history

Archival history

Migrated from the Nelson Mandela Speeches Database (Sep-2018).

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

South African Government Information Website

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Appointment of the commissioners of the Commission on Gender Equaliity

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area



The President is to appoint the persons listed below, as recommended to him by the National Assembly, as members of the Gender Equality Commission:
1. Thenjiwe Mtintso, Chairman (Full Time)

2. Cathi Albertyn (Part Time)

3. Zubedia Barmania (Part Time)

4. Elize Delport (Full Time)

5. Farid Esack (Full Time)

6. Nomboniso Gasa (Full Time)

7. Pinkie Mbowane (Full Time)

8. Harriet Ngubane (Full Time)

9. Beatrice Ngcobo (Full Time)

10. Phumele Ntombela-Nzimande (Part Time)

11. Viviene Taylor (Part Time)

The terms and conditions of the appointment of members of the Commission are currently being finalised and as soon as the nominees have indicated their acceptance of their appointment in accordance with these terms, the President will formalise their appointment.

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Acquisition method: From website ; Source: South African Government Information Website. Accessioned on 20/12/06 by Helen Joannides




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places